​Defunensemble​ celebrates 10th anniversary​​

Defunensemble, a contemporary music ensemble devoted to performing electroacoustic music, celebrates its 10th anniversary this year. During the year, the group has performed extensively in Finland and abroad – for example at ISCM World Music Festival, ME_MMIX Festival, Musica Nova Helsinki and Viitasaaren Musiikin aika.

The year of celebration culminates in the d(X)e festival arranged by defunensemble, taking place in Helsinki between November 29th and December 3rd. The d(X)e festival combines various projects that cross genre borders, providing pieces commissioned by the group as well as premieres by composers Michael Maierhof, Antti Auvinen, Øivind Torvund, Perttu Haapanen as well as defunensemble's Sami Klemola. The festival will also feature sound installations commissioned from Minna Leinonen and Heta Kuchka.

As a part of the festival, defunensemble arranges a panel discussion in collaboration with Music Finland, focusing on the roles and responsibilities of musicians in a changing society. The panel takes place at G Livelab on November 29th at 14–15.30. Registration is required. Read more here.

Founded in 2009 and coordinated by composer Sami Klemola, defunensemble consists of pianist Emil Holmström, cellist Markus Hohti, clarinetist Mikko Raasakka, harpist Lily-Marlene Puusepp, flutist Hanna Kinnunen as well as Timo Kurkikangas and Anders Pohjola.

Read our feature articles on defunensemble and Sami Klemola.


defunensemble: Define Function

(Siba Records, 2015)