Frigg, Pekko Käppi, Anne-Mari Kivimäki and more awarded at first Ethnogala

Finland’s first annual Ethnogala took place this Tuesday night at Helsinki’s Tavastia Club. Awards were handed out to some of the most interesting and distinguished figures in folk music, world music and folk dance.

A major part of Ethnogala were performances by Pekko Käppi, BaranBand, Suistamon Sähkö,, Duo Vildá and Maija Kauhanen on two different stages. Finnish Broadcasting Company (Yle) was an active partner in the gala, enabling a live stream and a radio broadcast of the event. Watch the stream here for 30 days.

Frigg awarded for border-breaking approach

A total of seven awards were given to bands and artists, including the Border Breaking Act of the Year awarded by Music Finland. The award went to renowned seven-piece ensemble Frigg, with the following reasoning: 

”If  JPP showed the world just what Finnish fiddling could do, then Frigg have proved over the last 15 years, that they are the rightful heirs to the JPP crown and have incorporated the brilliance of Finland’s traditions with influences from Balkan to Bluegrass, in a truly border-breaking approach.

Their management team is highly respected abroad and must be commended for building up strong partnerships and relationships within the profession, supporting them on tours which have taken in America, Australia and Japan as well as in Europe. 

Keeping a long term career in the spotlight is challenging, yet with their most recent album Frigg has shown that they continue to have new and fresh approaches and they continue to delight audiences around the world.”

Other award winners of Ethnogala were:

  • Artist of the YearAnne-Mari Kivimäki – Perinnelaboratorio
  • Phenomenon of the YearOrivesi All Stars
  • Newcomer of the Year: Maija Kauhanen
  • Folk Music Songwriter of the YearPekko Käppi & K:H:H:L
  • Choreographer of the yearPetri Kauppinen
  • Intersection Prize: Hildá Länsman

Read more articles on artists and groups of the Ethnogala 2017 on FMQ Magazine