New jazz albums by Verneri Pohjola, Olavi Louhivuori and more

Bullhorn is the new album by trumpeter/composer, Verneri Pohjola, and his first on Edition Records. Featuring his long term associates and friends: pianist Aki Rissanen, bassist Antti Lötjönen and drummer Teppo Mäkynen, Bullhorn undertakes a panoramic overview of Verneri’s wide-ranging, evocative yet energetic approach to music-making, anchored in his strong, personal sound.

Olavi Louhivuori, the frontman of Oddarrang and drummer of Ilmiliekki Quartet, releases his second solo album Existence on December 19. Louhivuori produced and performed all instruments on Existence

Tenors of Kalma, the new trio by Jimi Tenor, Kalle Kalima and Joonas Riippa, will release their debut album Electric Willow in February 2015 via ENJA Yellow Bird Records. Their sound is desribed as dark and jazzy with electronic pop influences. Kalima and Tenor have already made music for 10 years together and this is their first album. 

Jussi Frediksson Trio’s new album ? tackles the theme of insecurity and concentrates on cozy and warm living room atmosphere. Pianist Jussi Fredriksson is joined by bassist Jori Huhtala and drummer Mika Kallio.