Paavali Jumppanen returns to Australia in May

Internationally celebrated pianist Paavali Jumppanen will visit Australia for the 4th time in May as part of a 14 day collaborative concert program at the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) in Melbourne and a week of recitals in Canberra and Brisbane.

Paavali Jumppanen toured Australia in 2004, 2006 and 2010, as a soloist with the Melbourne and West Australian Symphonies performing the Bartok No.3, and in a series of solo recitals with sonatas by Beethoven, Boulez, Sibelius and Chopin, in all main land capital cities.

The program for the Melbourne ANAM collaborative series:

Concert on 3 May
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Quintet in E flat major, K.452
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sonata in D major for piano 4-hands K.381
Ludwig van Beethoven: Trio for Violin, Cello and Piano in D major, Opus 70, No. 1, “Ghost”

Concert on 7 May
Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Quintet in E flat major Opus 16
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sonata in B-flat major for piano 4-hands K.358
Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat, Opus 19

Concert on 12 May
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Quartet for Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano in G minor, K.478 
Ludwig van Beethoven: Trio for Violin, Cello and Piano in E-flat major, Opus 70, No. 2
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Concerto for Two Pianos, no. 10, K. 316a [365], E-flat major

The recital program for the Canberra and Brisbane recitals is as follows:
Claude Debussy: Préludes                
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata in D major Op. 28 "Pastoral"          
Lauri Kilpiö: Impromptu transcendental              
Franz Liszt: Au board d'une Source  
Franz Liszt: Mefisto Walzer no. 1