Saara Aalto will represent Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest with "Monsters"

Saara Aalto represents Finland in this year's Eurovision song contest with "Monsters".

In November 2017 Finnish Broadcasting Company YLE announced, that Saara Aalto was handpicked as Finland’s representative at this year’s Eurovision song contest. Three bidding song entries, "Monsters", "Domino" and "Queens", were released by YLE and Saara Aalto in February 2018. On Saturday March 3rd the Finnish audiences voted for the contestant song during a live broadcast show from Metro Arena in Espoo, Finland. "Monsters" was the song the audience chose for the contest. 

The writers of Aalto’s three new songs include Joy and Linnea Deb from the Swedish songwriter team The Family (with credits such as 2015’s Eurovision winner ”Heroes”  by Måns Zelmerlöv), English producer-songwriter Ki Fitzgerald (who has written for Jonas Brothers and Pitbull among others), Swedish writer Thomas G:son (who has credits in ninety songs in the national Eurovision finals, as well as 2012’s winning song ”Euphoria” by Swedish singer Loreen), Bobby Ljunggren (with altogether 39 Swedish Eurovision finals entries).

Saara Aalto will release her sixth solo album (her first on Warner Music), including the three contest songs, before the Eurovision finals, which take place in Lisboa, Portugal on 8–12 May. In October and November 2018 Saara Aalto will go on a 16-date concert hall tour in Finland.

Hear all three song entries below and read our 2016 feature story on Saara Aalto.