The Polar Music Prize 2013 to Kaija Saariaho and Youssou N’Dour

The Laureates of the Polar Music Prize 2013 are composer Kaija Saariaho and singer Youssou N’Dour

The Polar Music Prize is awarded to individuals, groups
or institutions in recognition of exceptional achievements in the creation and advancement of
music. Previous winner include Kronos Quartet, Björk, Pink Floyd, György Ligeti, Paul McCartney and Bob Dylan among others.

Saariaho has developed into a unique composer, a metal worker’s daughter who reexamines
what music can be. (…) Kaija Saariaho combines acoustic instruments with electronics and
computers. She has written chamber music, orchestral works and operas. Kaija
 Saariaho is a modern maestro who opens up our ears and causes their anvils and
stirrups to fall in love”, the award jury states.

On Tuesday 27th of August the Laureates will receive the prize from His Majesty
King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden at a gala ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall. Each recipient receives a total amount of one million SEK.