Four new artists to follow 3/2017

We’re taking a look at some of the most exciting and fresh newcomers in the Finnish music scene. This month we feature Lxandra (in the cover image), Normal Life, The Dark Element and Tomppabeats. Also, don't miss our Spotify playlist below.


Lxandra is a young Helsinki based singer and songwriter now living in Berlin. She was introduced to the world through Perttu’s EDM hit ”Waves” in 2016. In 2017 Lxandra released her two first solo singles, ”Flicker” and ”Hush Hush Baby”. Lxandra is signed to Universal Deutschland and has a publishing contract with BMG Germany.

Normal Life

Electronic duo Normal Life are no beginners in the indie game: Miikka Koivisto rose to fame as the vocalist in Disco Ensemble and Hisser, while Artturi Taira has made his name in the band Rubik. Normal Life picks influences from 1990’s electronic dance music, but still keep their melancholic vocal melodies in the centre.


Tomi Lahtinen aka Tomppabeats’s music was discovered quickly after he released his debut album Harbor in 2016 in Soundcloud. Born in 1997, the young producer’s J Dilla and Madlib inspired instrumental lo-fi hip-hop has garnered millions of streams in Spotify. His second album, Arcade, was released in December 2017.

The Dark Element

Former Sonata Arctica guitarist Jani Liimatainen has teamed up with Nightwish’s ex-vocalist Anette Olzon. Their new project is titled The Dark Element, in which they combine melodic metal with symphonic elements. The band’s self-titled debut album was released by Frontiers Music.